Lori Coon Horton, President



220 attend CHS reunion banquet


A total of 220 attended the Carnegie High School Alumni Banquet Saturday night held in the Memorial Building.  It was the 55th anniversary of Carnegie High School Alumni returning for the reunion.  Serving as officers were Oweda (Tully) Mace, president; Lori (Coon) Horton, vice president; Beverly (Stocking) Clemons, secretary/treasurer; and Tara (Phy) Thompson, publicity.  The invocation was given by Lori (Coon) Horton followed by dismissal for the meal catered by Suzie Q's of Marlow.  Following a delegate meeting, the Reunion Honor Program began in the auditorium.  Jan (Pitcher) Doster, pianist, played to the Procession of the Honor Graduates.  Oweda (Tully) Mace gave the Alumni Association welcome.  The local American Legion provided the presentation of colors and led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.  Marilyn (Malone) Schnabel sang the "Red and Black" song followed by the recognition of Veterans by Lori (Coon) Horton.  Memorial Building Representative Kelly ( Hurt) Williams, Superintendent of Carnegie Schools Dr. Kathy Carroll, and Carnegie Chamber of Commerce President Paula Watson send out welcome remarks speaking to the crowd in attendance.  Entertainment was provided by Kennedy Franklin, great granddaughter of Buster Swanda, performing "Don't Forget Me" from the television show "Smash".  She is the daughter of 1989 CHS grad Marna (Swanda) Franklin.  A slide show honored the classes of 1962 and 1963 followed by entertainment by Micah Whitlow, a fifth grader at Carnegie Elementary School.  


Honor Grad Awards

Reunion awards were presented to those who attended from Class of 1962 - Judy Adkins, Mary Sue Balden Caldwell, Dwayne Bryant, Cecelia Mae Combest Berry, Fred L. Copus, Roy Lynn Erman, Carolyn Hawkins Youngstedt, Dwayne Janes, Charles Morrison, Jerry Patterson, Linda Pennington Harrison, Virginia Phyillaier Maker, Carol Reynolds Mayes, Dale Reynolds, Linda Schmidt Sharry, Joe Scrudder, Diana Swanda Stelting, Dennis Swanda, Jenelle Tsoddle, Kenneth Tyler, Jr., and Robert Young. 
Presented awards from the Class of 1963 were Charles F. Bartosovsky, Jr., Kenny Graham, Janice Harrison Franklin, Thomas Doc Harrison, Dwayne Kinder, Charles Leroy Merritt, Carolyn Pitt Bryant, Jimmy Rogers, Scott Sherrill, Jerry Unruh, and Carline Wildman Kahl.  

The new officers were introduced and Lori (Coon) Horton gave the closing remarks as she will serve at the 2015 Alumni President.     

Email address: if you have any questions.